Sending the Fetch Forth

Barn Owl In FlightAs you may recall, my fylgia (aka fetch) travels between the worlds in Barn Owl form. The fylgja is conceptualized as a guardian spirit but also as a soul-part, reflecting a bit of the person’s personality. Diana Paxson discusses the fylgja and other soul-parts here. Since beginning our work together several years ago, I have come to rely on the services that Barn Owl provides for me in the Otherworlds. He most commonly serves as my protector and as my guide. I shared a few reflections on his work in those roles very early in our work together. You can find that post here.

As protector he has helped me to identify dangers while traveling, before they become a problem. And when I do encounter full-blown problems, Barn Owl often has a save or a solution. As a guide he is knowledgeable of the geography of the Otherworlds. He has led me to the halls of various Powers. Barn Owl has also offered a fair bit of useful information. For example, he helped me to identify a good place to establish my home in Midgard, found out what offerings I needed to give to a few spirits while I was in their realm, and informed me of “local customs” that I needed to be aware of in order to interact/communicate appropriately.

Barn Owl has also helped me tremendously by serving as a clerical aid of sorts. It may sound completely ridiculous but he often makes appointments for me in the Otherworld. I have quite unexpectedly arrived at my astral home to find him waiting on the mantle with the message that I need to set out again to meet So-n-So. A few times I came home to him insisting that I was late for an appointment. When we fare forth he leads the way or he perches on my shoulder (an odd sight, I’m sure). He is a constant comfort in my journeying.

As I’ve moved along in my magical work, I have worked with Barn Owl in another incredibly useful way: intelligence gathering. I have sent him forth to gather information about a few mundane and spiritual things (e.g. health issues, where to find a particular spirit in real time, etc.). I usually give him his favorite offerings (in quantity) when sending him forth in this way. And when I call him back so that he can report, he has clear information to provide. I like to use a pendulum or other aid to help focus my awareness/intuition. I’m new at this aspect of working with him but I hope to work with him more in this capacity. There is quite a bit that I hope to learn about this particular magical technique!

One thought on “Sending the Fetch Forth

  1. Pingback: Aborted Moon Viewing Attempts – EsotericJenavi

Leave a Reply

