Hailing Hekate at the Crossroads

“Hekatê of the Path, I invoke Thee, Lovely Lady of the Triple Crossroads,
Celestial, Chthonian, and Marine One, Lady of the Saffron Robe…
I pray Thee, Maiden, to be present…”

Hekate by Stuart Littlejohn

Hekate by Stuart Littlejohn

On August 25th, the night of the Dark Moon, my thoughts turned to the passing lunar month, to its challenges and mistakes, but also to its resolved struggles and notable successes. I let myself take note of the lunar month’s sweet fruits as well as its bitter fruits. Hekate receives all things that pass away, the good and the bad, and so I prepared to give Hekate her due at the time of the Dark Moon.

For the Nightwandering Queen I gathered offerings. I lit a blessed candle and burned rich incense for the Dread Goddess. I also selected a bottle of Leinenkugel Honey Weiss beer to satisfy her thirst and only the deepest red-black cherries to satisfy her hunger.  In addition to food offerings I gathered the month’s scraps from my altar which included remnants of candles, nearly spent candle wicks, ash from burned incense, scraps of tissue used to dust the altar, drops of spilled oil, empty vigil candle glasses from spells worked, and the like.

With beer, cherries, and altar leftovers in hand I journeyed to the three-way crossroads near my home under cover of night. I walked boldly and with words of reverence on my lips for the Terrible One, the Destroyer, the Queen of Those Below, and for the Torchbearer, the Attendant Who Leads, the Mighty One. With each step I felt the growing chill in the air and I sensed the spirits join me in honoring the Queen of Night. Once at the crossroads I disposed of the month’s altar leftovers with words of reverence and thanks, thereby purifying the temple and opening the way for the next lunar month’s blessings. I next prayed over the cherries and placed them on the ground, then poured the honey beer with still more holy words on my tongue. With a final prayer I turned on my heel and walked away from the triple crossroad. As is traditional I did not look back. I continued to honor Hekate with words from my heart on the walk back home. I felt incredibly close to her in that time. It has been nearly a week since the Dark Moon and I am still buzzing from that night’s Work. 

Hail the Lady of the Wayside and her howling retinue! Long may she bestow her blessings upon us!!

One thought on “Hailing Hekate at the Crossroads

Leave a Reply

