Pondering the Nature of the Divine

Sometimes, when I ponder the vastness of being, I am tempted to think of the gods as the primary manifestation of divinity, but, when I return to my senses, I remember that I do not believe that is so. In my personal belief system, divinity is pervasive, it is part and parcel of everything. Consequently, all is divine and every thing is divinity. From that standpoint, nothing is really more or less divine than anything else. Sure, deities are big and powerful, with influence that reaches far beyond any one human’s, but the gods are only one facet of divinity. Humans are also divine. So are plants, animals, dwarves, alfs, faeries, the dead, and the myriad other spirits and beings that populate the worlds. I guess this could be categorized as a pantheistic view, but that is still not the sum of it for me.

There is the collective whole of everything which is also divine. With that last bit added, my perspective could more accurately be described as panentheistic. The divine being that is the whole might be beyond human pondering or interaction [but I am not entirely convinced of that]. And what about the flipside? Does that divinity ponder us, interact with us? Does it wonder what we are doing? Does that divinity have a will that supersedes the parts and does that will of the whole directly impact us or must it reverberate through the mechanisms of the universe, changing form and function one billion times before reaching us as a shift in the winds that blow over our homes on a lazy Sunday afternoon? Am I splitting hairs with these questions? Perhaps the whole divinity’s fate both determines and is determined by our myriad fates, just as our fates determine and are determined by it. Such is the nature of interrelationship, of connectedness.

2 thoughts on “Pondering the Nature of the Divine

  1. Hi! Thanks for leaving a comment at my blog, so I could discover yours! I’ve been reading quite a few posts, and I am sure I will be visiting often! Also, I wanted to thank you for having our link on your blogroll – I will do the same right now :).

  2. Thanks, Carolina! And I must say that your crafts and your perspectives are always so refreshing! I’ve been following your blog for several months now and I look forward to many, many more.

Leave a Reply

