Glimpsing Deity: Glamour Falling, Ecstasy Rising

"Semele" by John McKirdy Duncan

So, is it just me, or do the gods’ seem to use glamours (which are magickal illusions) to veil their true form? I mean, it makes sense to me that they would since they are most definitely “big and powerful”. Consequently, for one of us mortals to look upon their true divine form is to be as Semele in the presence of Zeus – ablaze – not in a metaphorical sense; no, quite literally on fire, if we even get to that stage. We would probably bypass being on fire and simply vaporize, as might be the case at the center of a nuclear reactor. That’s the best way I can describe it.

I think their most common and trusted glamour is the symbol system of the subconscious, unconscious, and collective unconscious. Basically, from the way I understand the process, they seem to use the elements available in our minds to create veils for themselves when making “earthly” appearances (but they have symbols that they like which is why many people will see some common elements when they are visited by the same god). As implied above, the point of this glamour does not seem to be disguise or deception but our protection from them!

I have had two deities – Nerthus a while back and Hekate most recently – lift a layer or two of their veil and each time it was an INTENSE experience. Like crying, could not breathe, wincing, and wanting to run toward and away from the majesty of it all at once. I-N-T-E-N-S-E. I think that intensity is the ecstasy often associated with divine epiphany. As I draw closer to Freyja and Dionysos, I can sense similar experiences on the horizon, though I acknowledge their will in the matter and it may just as easily never happen for me with the two of them. Mercury and Odin are hanging back in that department, likely for their own reasons; again, they are free agents in this process so it may happen or it may never.

I will say that when these minor glamour “liftings” occurred, I was in deep trance (and in the situation with Nerthus, I was on a journey). Each time, something felt “off”. I could see the goddess but I could sense a great deal more behind what I saw. It was like a king running around in pauper’s clothing. They look poor, but their presence, the way they fill a room, reflects anything but that. Then, the more aware of it I became in each case the more layers of their glamour fell away. I’ll say it again, I-N-T-E-N-S-E.

Have others had a similar experience? I would absolutely love to compare notes. Feel free to leave a comment!

2 thoughts on “Glimpsing Deity: Glamour Falling, Ecstasy Rising

  1. The more you come to know of the deity the more layers are lifted. They show themselves in ways that people are ready to know them in. They can only show you what you are willing to acknowledge in yourself also. They don’t show parts of themselves which you are not yet willing or able to come to terms with about yourself.

    Hail Freyja! Hail Odin! Blessed Be!

    • That has definitely been my experience. The more I come to know them and honor them, the more of them I am able to see and interact with in ecstatic ways. It has been a wonderful process and I look forward to the steps to come.

Leave a Reply

