New Dionysos Shrine

Here is an image of my very first shrine to Dionysos. I hope that it will expand and evolve over time.

Once the shrine was set up, I sprinkled the space and myself with pure water and smudged the space and myself with White Ceremonial Sage to further cleanse and purify. After centering myself, I also blessed and consecrated the shrine as a place for veneration of Dionysos. As the last step, I invited Dionysos himself to take up residence in my life and at my shrine, if he felt so inclined. I spoke words to the effect of: “Come Roaring God, Wild One, emerge from the deep woods, Lord of Intoxication, God of Ecstasy. Come Liberator, Lord Dionysos, and inhabit this shrine, if you will. With mind, and body, and spirit, I will worship you!” There were many parts that I saw fit to repeat quite a bit as I projected my invitation. After a minute or so, I could feel warmth and tingling down my left side and the are seemed thicker, heavier. I welcomed Dionysos and thanked him for hearing my call.

The items at the shrine spiraling clockwise are:

1. A framed image of Dionysos (from a tarot deck that I can no longer locate online). The image has a good bit of his classical symbolism (e.g., an ivy crown and thrysos) so I thought it was a good place to start but I hope to find other images of the God that I can use.

2. A grapevine wreath, for obvious reasons.

3. A heart earring for two reasons: in one story of his (re)birth, only his heart was was recovered when he was torn apart by Titans at Hera’s decree. When his heart was later processed into a drink by Zeus for Semele to consume, she became pregnant with the God. In other Dionysian myths, in order to hide from Hera, he dressed as a girl, not to mention that he has a great affinity for women in general, thus the heart earring.

4. A string of garnet with bells attached because I associate garnets with vitality and sexuality, and bells because they are a noise making percussion instrument befitting Bromios, the Noisy One.

5. A wine bottle. Wine is one of many gateways to Dionysos’ mysteries.

6. An anklet made of natural fibers, painted flat glass disks, and wood. For some reason, I envision Maenads wearing various types of anklets (as well as bracelets, necklaces, and decorative waistbands) made of various natural fibers bedecked with things that clack, clang, and clap to make noise. This particular anklet, which I have had for quite some time, seemed appropriate.

7. Silk leaves and flowers for the Luxuriant God of Flowers and Foliage.

8. An ancient image of Bakkhantes (another name for Maenads) leading the Dionysian Bull to be sacrificed. I couldn’t have a shrine for Him without at least one bull image.

9. Bloodstone, Tiger’s Eye, and Garnet. Garnet I explained above. Tiger’s Eye for its connection to courage and creativity, as well as it’s namesake. Although tigers in particular are not sacred to the god to my knowledge, they are big cats sharing similarities with leopards and panthers which are sacred to Him. Bloodstone for its association with blood, courage, victory, agriculture, and raw power.

10. A candle for devotional work when I am in attendance at the shrine

11. An anklet of (yet and still more) bells, the only percussion instruments I have at my place

12. A lingam stone, symbol of male sexuality and masculinity in general. A very phallic stone and Dionysos has plenty of that symbolism in his myths!

13. A bunch of grapes, again for obvious reasons

I also have a slew of books about Dionysos, procured from my University library, that I hope to rip into once the summer break officially begins. I cannot wait! Hail Dionysos, Blessed God of Many Mysteries. May I come to know you well and call you friend.

2 thoughts on “New Dionysos Shrine

  1. This is utterly gorgeous, and I love all the thought you’ve put into the different components of the shrine. I have a shrine to Dionysos also, so we share that in common!

Leave a Reply

