Barn Owl: Animal Spirit Guide

Barn Owls are amazing animal spirit guides. They bring a host of gifts to those with whom they choose to work. Ted Andrews writes at length about attributes of the Barn Owl in Animal Speak. He characterizes Barn Owl as a teacher of many mysteries, including stealth, clairvoyance, clairaudience, spirit contact, and mediumship. Andrews adds that Barn Owl can also help those with whom he works to establish a strong link between the heart and the mind. RavenDreamer also speaks at length about Barn Owl’s attributes, stating that those who have the Barn Owl as a guide are likely to have a polarizing effect on people, stimulating either interpersonal attraction or discord. RavenDreamer adds that Barn Owl people may have very different ways of doing things. Ravenari augments the conversation by commenting that Barn Owl folks tend to hear the truth across the worlds and also tell the truth, but like RavenDreamer, Ravenari asserts that people with Barn Owl as a guide can sometimes evoke social discord, either through their actions or simply how they are perceived by others.

In my experience with Barn Owl, Ted Andrews’ description rings the most true. In my work with Barn Owl, my heart-mind link has strengthened and he has been an incredible help in my attempts to make spirit contact, with both human (the dead) and non-human (e.g., alfar, wights, deities, etc) entities. With regard to the polarizing effect noted by RavenDreamer and Ravenari (at least to a degree), I have not seen polarization often but I would be lying if I said I have not seen it at all. Given my Libra tendencies, I do not enjoy having a polarizing effect; we tend to like harmony. The good news is that it does not happen often, but the two times in my life that it has manifested in a profound way, I can say that it has been highly transformative and I would not trade those experiences!

I have a lot more Work to do and I suspect that Barn Owl is in for a pound at this point (since he has already put in the penny). I look forward to the path ahead and learning more about Barn Owl as a guide and teacher who is similar to but also distinct from other Owl spirits.

6 thoughts on “Barn Owl: Animal Spirit Guide

Leave a Reply

