An Offering for the Ancestors

Here’s a picture of last week’s Ancestor altar containing a few simple offerings to Elegua, the Opener of the Way (even to the Egun), to Oya, the One at the Cemetery Gate, and to my Ancestors. As mentioned in a previous post, I did some cleromancy to see what my Ancestors wanted for offerings, but that process was sidetracked by Elegua who demanded his due first. Once I acknowledged him, then Oya also voiced her opinions regarding offerings. I have yet to do a full divination session with my ancestors since Elegua appropriated my attention back in the day, but last Saturday I used my intuition to determine what they might like.

So, Elegua received two candles – one red and one black – dressed with Florida Oil, and a shot of Smirnoff Vodka. Oya also received a shot of the same type of vodka. And, my ancestors received vodka as well and a small dish containing an Ancestral Floral Water blend that I made myself (It smells amazing but I actually seem to have lost the formula so I doubt I will be able to recreate it). They accepted the offerings given this time around. However, I have this nagging intuitive sense that they would prefer rich, dark alcohol. So, in the future, I think I will offer my Ancestors some whiskey, give dark rum to Elegua, and cinnamon-infused vodka to Oya. I also owe Elegua some candy. I am thinking peppermints because my grandmother loved them, they are classic, and they contain one of his sacred colors. I hope that they like that a little more that what I was able to muster for last week’s offering.

I am really excited about moving forward with my Egun and with the deities who have taken to guiding me through the process.

9 thoughts on “An Offering for the Ancestors

  1. It’s coming along! :-D I know I was jealous of Mousie’s altars when I first started. They were so beautiful and full. I felt mine were pathetic and empty. I did realize how it takes time. It’s not something that you work to fill; you don’t go to the local home decor store to find the pretties to put on your altar. They’re items that find their way there because they belong there.

    And my spirits are particular about their spirits as well! ;-) The little glass on my altar with the shamrocks on it…shamrocks for the Irish ancestors, but it’s filled with German brandy. A compromise they seemed happy with. Of course I shared my amaretto with Papa Legba; he seemed to like it. And when I don’t have rum a little Kahlua in black coffee seems to cheer Eleggua up as well. Eleggua is a curious fellow; I know one lady whose Eleggua hates chocolate, for example!

    One thing I have learned…and I think you always knew this…the best thing to do is to ask. No one can tell you what to give your spirits but your spirits. Took me forever to figure that out!

  2. Hi Tamilia,
    I was listening to some songs today and something told me to share this song with you. I know it sounds strange, but I thought of you when I heard it. I hope you enjoy it, and your ancestor altar is beautiful and I can see the love and care that is expressed in it.

    Ashe to you, your Eggun, and your loved ones! :)

  3. I was guided to your blog and I have enjoyed the latest posts immensely. I hope Hekate will answer my prayers and ask you to mentor me in Her mysteries :)

    • Hi Alex! I’m so glad that you find value in my blog. When I started writing about my experiences, it was my hope that others would gain something of worth from them. I would love to email you “off-blog” to converse more about your interest in Hekate!! Let me know if that’s alright with you. I am always looking for other folks who work intensely with her. Take care, and I look forward to hearing from you!

    • Hi Alex! I just sent you an email today; sorry for the delay. I won’t be a mentor in the obnoxious sense of the word (you know, “master”, grand pooh bah, or “sage blah blah” – not that you want that anyway) but I am super happy to share my experiences with you – on and off blog – and listen to your experiences with Hekate. It can be challenging working with her at times but the rewards are profound. Looking forward to trading stories with you and being a cheerleader for you on your path with Hekate!

    • Nice!! I did not know that. Thanks for the tip!! I was just thinking to myself how expensive alcoholic offerings can be when one works with many deities on a regular basis. If I am ever in a particularly tough spot financially, I will remember that Elegua likes Coke. Maybe he can persuade Odin to transfer his affections from mead to hard cider :-).

  4. Pingback: Orisha Elegua’s Sweet Tooth | Wandering Woman Wondering

Leave a Reply

